Appointments to the Consumer Council

4 October 1997
Email this page

A government spokesman announced today (Friday) that the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region has appointed Ms Anna WU Hung-yuk, JP, as the Chairman of the Consumer Council for two years as from 7 October 1997. Separately, the Financial Secretary has appointed Dr John HO Dit-sang as the Vice-Chairman for the same period.

Ms Anna Wu joined the Consumer Council in 1989 and became the Vice-Chairman in 1993. She is very active in the Council's affairs and heads, among others, the Legal Protection Committee and the Consumer Legal Action Fund Management Committee. She is also the Vice-Chairman of the Competition Policy Committee.

Dr John HO joined the Council in 1993. He has been involved in various committees and working groups and is now the Vice-Chairman of the Council's Trade Practices Committee.

"We are confident that Ms Wu and Dr Ho will provide the necessary leadership for the Council in continuing to promote consumer interests in Hong Kong," the spokesman said.

To fill the vacancy arising, the Financial Secretary has appointed Mr Andrew LIAO Cheung-sing, JP, SC, as a member of the Council from 7 October 1997 to 31 December 1998. Mr Liao is a senior counsel.

Ms Wu will be succeeding Professor Edward CHEN Kwan-yiu, JP, who will be retiring from the Consumer Council having served on it for 10 years including six years as Chairman.

"We are most grateful to Professor Chen for his distinguished contribution to the Consumer Council over the years. His dedication, leadership and wisdow have inspired the Council to excel in the cause of advancing consumer interests," the spokesman added.

The appointment notice will appear on the Government Gazette next week (9 October 1997).